At Ojie, nothing is left to chance. The patterns of our silk squares and accessories are all imagined and hand drawn by designer Julia. Each silk square is preciously printed and rolled by hand in the French way in Lyon, the silk capital of France. The box that protects your silk square is also made in France. Ojie supports French know-how and craftsmanship. From the creation of the pattern, through the printing, to the rolled up, everything is done with respect for traditions.

Reasons to no longer know where to turn

The motif is obtained by repeating drawings at a regular pace. It is the regularity of the rhythm which gives the motif this indefinite, infinite character. In the world of textiles and design, there are several kinds of patterns: placed, semi-placed, all-over, etc. Whether geometric, floral or arabesque, the pattern has been around for millennia. It is used for dressing, coloring, tapestries, objects, clothes, etc. The pattern gives the wearer a unique timeless character due to its infinity. A fun trick, it has been subject to interpretation since the dawn of time, arouses curiosity and invites discussion. It was at the beginning of the 17th century that the woven pattern appeared on silk. Whether woven or printed, the pattern is still talking about it.

"The design of an Ojie silk scarf is made from a unique pattern drawn by hand and composed of different elements from the imagination. Each element has its place, and a universe takes shape before our eyes. It suffices to change a line, a color, and the square then takes on a completely different shape. This is what makes the pattern and each of our designs unique. Once the design is done on paper, the pattern comes to life, animated by a carefully defined color palette. Shades always more vibrant than each other, for a perfect marriage between imagination and reality. All of our designs tell stories, endlessly interpretable. "

Our silks from Lyon.

From Princess Xi Ling Shi to our silk fabrics from Lyon, the history of silk has traveled the world and time before becoming this noble material prized by the greatest houses of French haute couture. Initially, silk was reserved exclusively for the Chinese imperial family, but very quickly France seized this noble material thanks, it is said, to Louis XI who would have built the first silk production in France, in Lyon. In order to perpetuate this tradition, all of our Ojie silk squares are delicately crafted in a Lyon silk workshop whose know-how is an integral part of French heritage and craftsmanship. All our silk squares are delicately crafted in Lyon, according to the rules of the art, and perpetuates this unique Lyon tradition which is an integral part of French heritage and craftsmanship.

“And it is only when the cocoon becomes thread and the thread becomes silk that the dance can begin. Animated by this unique weaving, the patterns waltz to the rhythm of the silk. Soft music that makes our pupils and hearts vibrate. "

The silk.

Before being silk, the precious thread produced by worms, says Bombyx, undergoes a whole process in order to be prepared for its future use. First of all, the threads are twisted, that is to say twisted several times between them in order to obtain a supple silk. The silk is then scoured, before being dyed, then woven on a loom that interweaves warp and weft threads, which gives these oblique grooves characteristic of silk twill. This type of weaving allows a unique color vibrance specific to silk twill. On this blank canvas, our designs will be printed using a unique inkjet printing technology. This technique allows for a nice crossing of colors on both sides of the twill. Indeed, the silk twill used measures 14 mommes, which is thick enough to give hold, flexibility and density to the silk square. But this twill, appreciated by connoisseurs, requires some knowledge to be able to be dyed evenly. The Lyon silk workshop with which we work has this sought-after know-how and allows our designs to be ever more vibrant on silk.

Hand rolled.

In order to finalize the rendering, the silk square is cut by hand by an experienced seamstress who makes the hand-rolled French-style. The seamstress rolls the edge of the square with her fingertips and uses thread and needle to sew the finish of the side where the design is printed. This precious technique gives the bob a delicate and structuring drape that is impressive even from afar.

Chez Ojie, rien n'est laissé au hasard. Les motifs de nos carrés et accessoires en soie sont tous imaginés et dessinés à la main par la créatrice Julia. Chaque carré de soie est précieusement imprimé et roulotté à la main à la française à Lyon, capitale de la soie en France. L'écrin qui protège votre carré de soie est lui aussi confectionné en France. Ojie soutient le savoir-faire et l’artisanat français. De la création du motif, en passant par l’impression, jusqu’au roulotté, tout est fait dans le respect des traditions.

Des motifs à ne plus savoir où donner de la tête

Le motif est obtenu par la répétition de dessins à rythme régulier. C'est la régularité du rythme qui donne au motif ce caractère indéfini, infini. Dans l'univers du textile et du design, il existe plusieurs sortes de motifs: le placé, le semi-placé, le all-over, etc. Qu'il soit géométrique, floral ou arabesque, le motif existe depuis des millénaires. Il est utilisé pour habiller, colorer, les tapisseries, les objets, les vêtements, etc. Le motif confère à celui qui le porte un caractère intemporel unique dû à son infinité. Trompe l'œil amusant, il est sujet aux interprétations depuis la nuit des temps, suscite la curiosité et invite à la discussion. C'est au début du XVIIème siècle que le motif tissé fait son apparition sur la soie. Qu'il soit tissé ou imprimé, le motif fait encore et toujours parler de lui.

« Le design d’un carré de soie Ojie est réalisé à partir d’un motif unique dessiné à la main et composé de différents éléments issus de l’imaginaire. Chaque élément a sa place, et un univers se dessine sous nos yeux. Il suffit de changer un trait, une couleur, et le carré prend alors une toute autre forme. C’est ce qui fait l’unicité du motif et de chacun de nos designs. Une fois le dessin effectué sur papier, le motif prend vie, animé par une palette de couleurs soigneusement définie. Des teintes toujours plus vibrantes les unes que les autres, pour un mariage parfait entre imaginaire et réalité. Tous nos designs racontent des histoires, interprétables à l’infinie. »

Nos soyeux lyonnais.

De la princesse Xi Ling Shi jusqu'à nos soyeux lyonnais, l'histoire de la soie a parcouru le monde et le temps avant d'être cette matière noble prisée des plus grandes maisons de la haute couture française. Initialement, la soie était réservée exclusivement à la famille impériale chinoise, mais très vite la France s'est emparée de cette matière noble grâce, dit-on, à Louis XI qui aurait fait construire la première production de soie en France, à Lyon. Afin de perpétuer cette tradition, tous nos carrés de soie Ojie sont délicatement confectionnés dans un atelier de soierie lyonnais dont le savoir-faire fait partie intégrante du patrimoine et de l’artisanat français.

« Et ce n'est que quand le cocon devient fil et que le fil devient soie que la danse peut commencer. Animé par ce tissage unique, les motifs valsent au rythme de la soie. Une douce musique qui fait vibrer nos pupilles et nos cœurs. »

La soie.

Avant d'être soie, le fil précieux produit par les vers, dit Bombyx, subit tout un procédé afin d'être préparé pour son futur usage. Tout d'abord, les fils sont moulinés c'est à dire tordus plusieurs fois entre eux dans le but d'obtenir une soie souple. La soie est ensuite décreusée, avant d'être teinte, puis tissée sur un métier qui entrelace fils de chaine et fils de trame, ce qui donne ces rainures obliques caractéristiques au twill de soie. Ce type de tissage permet une vibrance des couleurs uniques et propre au twill de soie. Sur cette toile vierge, nos designs vont être imprimés grâce à une technologie unique d’impression au jet d’encre. Cette technique permet une belle traversée des couleurs de part et d’autre du twill. En effet, le twill de soie utilisé mesure 14 mommes, ce qui est suffisamment épais pour donner tenue, souplesse et densité au carré de soie. Mais ce twill, apprécié par les connaisseurs, demande certaines connaissances pour pouvoir être teint de manière uniforme. L’atelier de soierie lyonnais avec lequel nous travaillons possède ce savoir-faire recherché et permet à nos designs d’être toujours plus vibrants sur soie.

Le roulotté main.

Afin de finaliser le rendu, le carré de soie est découpé à la main par une couturière expérimentée qui confectionne le roulotté main à la française. La couturière fait rouler du bout de ses doigts le bord du carré et coud au fil et à l’aiguille la finition du côté où est imprimé le design. Cette technique précieuse assure au carré un tombé délicat et structurant impressionnant même de loin.